Should the personal be kept out of business?

23 Aug

060110_macbook_pro.jpgA few years ago on one of my other blogs I wrote a post about what was appropriate content for a “business” blog. This was in response to a then colleague spouting off that I should not be so “personal” sounding on my business blog.

Well, for those of you who don’t know me – I’m fairly outspoken when necessary and quite opinionated most of the time. And while I am not afraid to speak my mind, that’s not to say I just go off or that I am impolite about it. In fact, many people have told me they’ve never heard someone put another person in their place so kindly or efficiently before or with such grace. But, really, that’s beside the point. I just wanted to tell you this up front so this will make better sense to you.

Anyway – back to the topic – here, in a nutshell, is what I think about keeping personal stuff out of your business blog or website.

Don’t.

Why, you ask? That’s a great question!

Well, because you don’t really want to sound like a stuffy 5,000 employee company that doesn’t give a rip, do you?

No, I didn’t think so. But that is what you will sound like if you keep it strictly business. It turns many a customer off. Some of us more than others.

When I go to someone’s website, unless they are a major corporation like Amazon.com, Wal Mart, or Macy’s, I want to know there’s a real person behind that business mask. A real person who cares, who is involved with their company, who appreciates the customer and genuinely wants your patronage.

I want to know when I land on someones blog, that they are a human with emotions just like me. And they’ll have a better chance of getting my business if they speak to me like they think I’m a thinking, feeling, intelligent human being too. Nothing turns me off more than corporate sounding bunk on the blog or website of mom and pop operation. If I want that, I’ll go shop with the “big boys” at Nike or Old Navy or whatever.

Just be real and people will follow you.

~Annie (lsandrsn on the forum)
====================
Twitter
GTalk – silverlunace

Other blogs:
Main
Writing
Website

