Rant: Partial Feeds

6 Sep

Ok – here’s my currant rant – partial feeds. I hate partial feeds! It’s annoying. I mean, I use a feed reader to make it easier and faster to read all the blogs I love and enjoy. But ya know, when you only offer a partial feed, I have to break my momentum to go to your page and finish reading.

Small annoyance? Hardly. My time is just as valuable as yours. If you’re going to take the time to write the blasted thing, have some respect for my time too and allow full feeds.

Really. It’s gotten to be that I’m deleting feeds from my Bloglines because even though I love the blogs, I just can’t take a bunch of extra time to go surfing all over the place to read them. That *IS* why I use a feed reader to begin with – to save time so I can read all the blogs I like. Not just yours.

So – please. Do your readers a favor and allow full blog feeds so those using a reader can be as efficient as they need to be. I doubt you’ll lose any readers over it.

But I bet you WILL lose readers over partial feeds. Like me.

~Annie (lsandrsn on the forum)
====================
Twitter
GTalk – silverlunace

Other blogs:
Main
Writing
Website

3 Responses to “Rant: Partial Feeds”

  1. Michael Valiant September 7, 2007 at 1:48 pm #

    While I understand your frustration with partial feeds in your feedreader (I find it equally frustrating), as a blog writer, using partial feeds is incredibly important and can help solve one of the biggest SEO problems that WordPress (and other blog software) has.

    Take wordpress for instance.

    When you write a post, wordpress automatically creates the following unique pages :

    post on homepage
    permalinked post
    post in category
    post in date archive
    post in feed
    post on paginated homepage (after it drops off homepage)

    WOW! talk about duplicate content! Exactly the same content, but the search engines see it in at least 6 unique places.

    If you were to use the ‘more’ function to split your posts up though, there would only be 1 full copy of your post (the permalink version) all others would be partial.

    And you would have fewer problems with duplicate content!

    Michael Valiant
    http://www.TheMarketersReport.com

  2. Michael Valiant September 7, 2007 at 1:50 pm #

    I should also mention that, if you are using the installed version of WordPress, you can play with the code to add noindex | noarchive meta tags to your date, category and paginated pages to accomplish the same thing!

    Michael

  3. annieanderson September 7, 2007 at 2:08 pm #

    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for the info. That’s very helpful.

    Got any advice you’d care to share on just how to do that with installed versions?

    ~ Annie

Comments are closed.

